September 25

Classroom Design Challenge

First, let me apologize for the gap in updating this blog.  I would love to say I have a great excuse, I don’t however.  The beginning of the year is busy, but still no excuse.   I work better having things scheduled so I have decided to make Wednesday nights my Blog Night.  If I put it on my calendar it will happen, right?  Yes, I realize this is Sunday, trust me I know what day of the week it is.  Hehe

Now let’s get to this post.  This year’s challenge was the fact that our class sizes have increased.  I had to make a decision based on room size and storage needs.  I requested desks for my classroom.  I probably haven’t had desks since…well I don’t even know.  I asked for them for a couple of reasons, the first and most important, they are great for storage.  Each student can keep their supplies in their desk, instead of cubbies or bins that I have purchased in the past.  I didn’t have enough for the increased size, having to purchase 10 more didn’t seem budget friendly, so desks was an option.  I said two reasons, and for the life of me I can’t remember reason number two.  Hehe

2016-08-11-17-27-18-min

I still love to have soft lighting and the stand up counters are still a popular option for work space.

2016-08-11-17-27-02-min

Pods of six seem to work well. Notice I did cover them with blue vinyl, just like my tables in the past.

2016-08-11-17-27-44-min

My daughter-in-law suggested the quiet reading space. This was our “patio” last year with deck chairs and no rug. I like this better.

2016-08-11-17-27-51-min

Bought these two little tables from IKEA for $7.99. Sweet deal. I put labels for Open House that these were not benches. Hehe They are great for games, writing, and building with Legos.

2016-08-11-17-27-33-min

My daughter-in-law also hung all our research QR codes for easy access.

2016-08-18-16-41-31-min

I also tried these little u-shaped pods for a bit. They drove me crazy. It was also difficult for kiddos to work in small groups.

2016-08-18-16-41-49-min

Sweet space for meeting.

2016-08-17-11-15-04-min

Of course you can arrange, arrange, and arrange…but until there are kids, you just never know.

I have tried three different arrangements since the beginning of the year and finally found one that works for now.  There is still alternate seating so students can have choice.  The desks serve the purpose for storage and my 4th graders think they are cool (for now, that will wear off I am sure). I have a new idea that I am going to try after Winter Break.  Stay tuned for that post. 

 


Posted September 25, 2016 by Mrs. L in category Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*